At one time (1890 & early 1900,s) the oldest building in the complex — now our Trattoria — housed the Frederick City Manufacturing Company which was owned by the Fahrney Family and manufactured ink. In fact, a direct descendant of this operation now exists as the Fahrney Ink & Pen Company of Washington, D.C. Later, Dr. P.D. Fahrney originated the Victor Remedies Company. The fifth generation in a line of family physicians from Boonsboro, Maryland, Fahrney was destined to become an entrepreneur in his own right. His time-tried concoction of roots, herbs, berries, and barks was introduced to the public as Victor Liver Syrup in the late 1800’s and met with instant success. A multitude of remedies, intended for man and beast, including Victor Pain Balm, Victor Headache Syrup, and Victor Liniment, were introduced during the next forty years on this original site.
Although Fahrney’s family original elixir’s no longer are available upon request, our Trattoria (initially Victor’s Saloon & Raw Bar) has created a modern drink menu — consisting of both alcoholic and nonalcoholic beverages — guaranteed to stimulate and refresh the senses.
In 1923, the Lebherz Family opened up the Everedy Factory which manufactured ingenious cooking utensils and gadgets. The original Lebherz held the No.1 patent on the bottle capper — several now are displayed in our bar. This invention was very popular with the public who were making home-brew during the Prohibition Era. Some Fredericktonians were insistent that people were not making home-brew, but that they made root beer. Interesting as this notion might be, it would now appear strange because the fact is that the Everedy Factory could not sell many bottle cappers after the Prohibition was repealed! Could it be that people lost their taste for root beer after the Prohibition ceased? You may be the judge of that.
During the next 30 to 40 years, the Everedy Factory manufactured some of the most interesting and ingenious pots, pans, and kitchen wares. They were one of the first companies to make chrome-plated utensils and to teflon coat pots and pans. During the World War II years, the factory was converted to make munitions, among which were grenades.
After having been purchased by a larger company, the facilities production was transferred elsewhere, and what was known as The Everedy Company finally closed its door in 1977. During the ensuing years the property was rented to small independent businesses, e.g. and ironcraft store, and antique store, an appliance store, C & P Telephone housed some of its operations in stores along Church Street extended.
In 1984, William B. Anderson, owner of Antique Imports in the south west corner of East and Second Streets, purchased the property. His creative genius is expressed in the rather unique restoration of the present Everedy Square complex which is an excellent example of what can be done in old dying industrial urban areas. Much of the 3 some odd acres which made up the Everedy property was under roof. Under the direction of Bert Anderson, the shack-type buildings were removed and the sturdy ones renovated. Everedy Square stands as a monument to creative redevelopment,
The first tenant of Everedy Square was Frederick School Supply store which moved into its present East Church Street location in 1985.
Tauraso’s began construction of the restaurant in Labor Day 1986 and opened its doors only 3 months later on 8 December.